AgTraIn - 3 year World Class Joint Doctoral Programme

Agricultural Transformation by Innovation (AgTraIn) is a three-year world-class Joint Doctoral Programme (180 ECTS). It is part of the Erasmus Mundus programme initiated by the European Commission to promote European higher education throughout the world. The language of the programme is English. (c) Chriss Aghana Nwobu The AgTraIn Objective and FocusThe main objective of the AgTraIn programme is to develop an elite European school within the topic of successful development and transformation of farming systems in the developing world. Thematically, the AgTraIn programme deals with agricultural production chains, the natural resource base and the involved communities. The scope of AgTraIn will range from the technical aspects of agricultural production, over post-harvest management, processing and value-addition, to market access and commercialisation. A key feature of the programme is the involvement of key stakeholders in identifying research questions and participating in project formulation. The emphasis is on applied research. The AgTraIn ConsortiumAgTraIn is offered by a consortium of internationally recognised European universities:
  • University of Copenhagen, Denmark
  • Universidad Politecnica de Madrid, Spain
  • Montpellier Supagro, France
  • University College of Cork, Ireland
  • Universita Degli Studi di Catania, Italy
  • Wageningen University, The Netherlands
    In addition, a string of globally important institutions and networks in the AgTraIn scientific fields have joined AgTraIn as Associate Partners:
    • Institute Agronomique et Veterinaire Hasan II, Morocco
    • Kasetsart University, Thailand
    • Makerere University, Uganda
    • University of São Paolo, Brazil
    • Regional Universities Forum for Capacity Building in Agriculture (RUFORUM), Uganda
    • Southeast Asian Regional Center for Graduate Study and Research in Agriculture (SEARCA), Philippines
    • Tropical Agricultural Research and Higher Education Center (CATIE), Costa Rica
    • CGIAR Challenge Programme on Climate Change Agriculture and Food Security (CCAFS), Denmark
    • Promoting Local Innovation (PROLINNOVA), The Netherlands
    • Young Professionals Platformon Agricultural Research for Development (YPARD), Germany
    Applications The Call for Applications for Category A and Category B scholarships is open. The deadline for application is 1 November 2011. You will find the 2011 Research Topics and the Application Form  here.AgTraIn has a policy of equal opportunities for men and women and people with special needs. Fellowships Every year approximately 8-10 fellowships will be available to academically outstanding applicants. There is one annual call for applications; short-listed applicants are invited to present and discuss their proposals.